Oxford Road: Officially Restricted. 

So Europe’s busiest bus route, Oxford Road, Manchester is currently littered with roadworks. Like literally, they’re everywhere.

As a keen believer in walking as a mode of both transport and fitness, you would think I would be little effected by such issues. You would be wrong.

On my regular walk to Fallowfield, I have been forced to walk between  temporary metal walls that reach high above my head as well as being diverted down junctions that add minutes to my journey that I would rather spend doing frankly anything else.

Not only this, but when my schedule means I do not have time to walk and must succumb to public transport, I have been diverted onto much longer routes which have made me late, or caused me to run from the bus stop to my destination on multiple occasions. (However I am in no way complaining about the bus service – magic buses are £1 and hence a financial life-saver).

Here is evidence of this madness from just a stones throw away from my halls.

It’s safe to say myself, and most likely every other student in Manchester will be found rejoicing when this disruption ends.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

